FEARFULLY WONDERFULLY MADE

by Aubry Rose

photo

My beautiful niece Agnes Rosemary

A reflection on the wisdom found in the writings and words of Jeremiah, David, and the book of Wisdom. I urge you to read these slowly, and let their weight sink into the depths of your heart and mind.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,
and before you were born I consecrated you;
I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”
Jeremiah 1:5

And this:

You formed my inmost being;
You knit me in my mother’s womb.
I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
wonderful are your works!
that my soul knows very well.
My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes beheld my unformed substance;
In your book were written all the days that were formed for me,
when none of them as yet existed.
Psalm 139: 13-16 (a psalm of David)

Sigh. And this:

I also am mortal, like all men,
a descendant of the first-formed child of earth;
and in the womb of a mother I was molded into flesh,
within the period of ten months, compacted with blood,
from the seed of a man and the pleasure of marriage.
And when I was born,
I began to breathe the common air,
and fell upon the kindred earth,
and my first sound was a cry, like that of all.
I was nursed with care in swaddling cloths.
For no king has had a different beginning of existence;
there is for all one entrance into life,
and one way out.
Wisdom 7: 1-6 (the author writing in the perspective of King Solomon)

MY HEART IS BURSTING. These are the some of the most beautiful words ever penned. The Holy Spirit flowed through these priests, prophets and kings, allowing their docility to the truth to penetrate through the ages. Honestly. How can one not be touched by God’s love when reflecting on these verses from Scripture?

It struck me how Jeremiah, David, and Solomon were some of the most revered and respected men in ancient biblical times. These were no dummies, and they certainly weren’t nobodies. They were some of the most powerful men of society.

They spoke with authority, yet with a blasé attitude, unimpressed not by the weight but by the familiarity of these thoughts. I especially get that sense with the author of the book of Wisdom. He spoke with an air of, how shall I say this, “Duh!”-ness about him. This preciousness, yet commonness of each life, was something that even the wisest of men agreed upon. They saw a King enter into this earth through the sufferings of labor; they saw that same King slowly being formed in the womb. It didn’t matter whether that life was one week in utero, or one week past due. God had made it so.

These were all faithful Jews, yes, but they are real men of history. They existed, and their words are cemented into the ground for all of eternity. Their pens allow for a glimpse into a different time — a time of simple reverence for the natural cycles of the earth, the ebb and flow of mother and child.

There is something about these verses that I am unable to put into words, an almightiness and authority that seems hard to ignore.

