VIRGIN’S KISS

by Aubry Rose

..God’s heart is more gentle than the Virgin’s first kiss upon the Christ..
– Saint Catherine of Siena

Happy feast day to our dear Saint Catherine of Siena! I realize I haven’t blogged in a while and decided this quote was worthy of reflection. I’m also getting ready to leave for the Camino, and need to re-familarize myself with my blog so as to do my blogging duty. Not to mention that yesterday was Saint Gianna Beretta Molla’s feast day as well. So anyways, what I’m trying to say is please forgive me for this seriously scrambled Aubry thought vomit, because I’m so blown away by what I’m thinking about that I can barely write about it. Here we go.

.. the Virgin’s first kiss upon the Christ. I mean, really. It kind of blows me away to truly think about the love that Our Lady had for her child in that kiss. We’re talking itty bitty baby Jesus, with his middle eastern mop of hair, wrapped up in a seriously dirty swaddle blanket, way more organic than our cotton can claim nowadays. Can you imagine the emotions that cascaded through her like a holy spirit waterfall, consuming her adorable child in that one. sweet. kiss? Talk about the most beautiful, overwhelming moment ever.

Mary was fully human, yet she was capable of fully divine love. With her one courageous Yes! to God’s perfect plan, she entered into His heavenly realm. She allowed her heart & body to be opened to God’s grace and love on such a profound level, that her Yes was literally transformed into new life. And that redemptive, life-giving, miraculous body within her was made humble recipient of that one. sweet. kiss.

What I take away from this beautiful love story is this: it is only through God’s grace & one’s Yes that one is made capable of extraordinary love, the kind that is worthy of kissing Jesus’s brow.

God (so badly!) yearns for us all to accept the gift of new life He has for us, through our own Yes. Because, don’t you remember? — God’s heart is more gentle than the Virgin’s first kiss upon the Christ… which, to really sit & think about, is a gigantic amount of gentle.

