SHINE THROUGH US

by Aubry Rose

In honor of Mother Teresa, who happened to enter into a conversation I was having tonight. I am so grateful to God that He reminded me of this daily prayer of hers (written by Blessed John Henry Newman.) And I think He wanted me to pass it along.

So, I give you.. my absolute favorite prayer in the entire universe (or meditation, for all you yogis out there – hey, whatever it takes to get you to say breathe it, ya know?):

Dear Jesus,

Help us to spread Your fragrance everywhere we go. Flood our souls with Your spirit and life. Penetrate and possess our whole being, so utterly, that our lives may only be a radiance of Yours. Shine through us, and be so in us, that every soul we come in contact with may feel Your presence in our soul. Let them look up and see no longer us, but only Jesus! Stay with us, and then we shall begin to shine as You shine; so to shine as to be a light to others; the light, O Jesus, will be all from You, none of it will be ours; it will be You, shining on others through us. Let us thus praise You in the way You love best by shining on those around us. Let us preach You without preaching, not by words but by our example, by the catching force, the sympathetic influence of what we do, the evident fullness of the love our hearts bear to You. Amen.

SWOON. This prayer is absolutely glorious, isn’t it? Can you imagine how different our world would be if we all allowed Christ’s love to radiate through us, and make our eyes twinkle with His light? Let’s be serious – it would be radically different & quite the welcome change from today’s greedy & self-centered ways.

I didn’t actually make a New Years resolution because I think that the whole new year idea is a little silly, you have a new chance at life everyday for Pete’s sake, but anyways, I think I shall resolve to say this prayer everyday.

CHANGING THE WORLD, COMMENCE!
Care to join me?

